author spotlight: Joshunda Sanders

Have you ever admired a friend for her unwavering confidence? If so, what would you tell her? In her heartfelt letter to a friend she admires, Joshunda Sanders spells out the true meaning of friendship to her friend Kristen in “Better Than BFFs”:

“I’m writing you this letter because I don’t think I could ever tell you any of this in person without crying, and we both know we’re way too gangster for that. It occurred to me on New Year’s Eve, when I got one of your hysterically funny cards about the case of Paris, Britney, and Lindsay’s missing underwear, that we are part of a dying breed. Black women newspaper reporters. We were kindred spirits: both in the fellowship program meant to diversify newspapers, both not sure that the experiment we were engaged in would work. We smoked Nat Shermans from the top of the bank building across the street, which made me feel like I wasn’t as lowly as the people who smoke Newports or Camels, although eventually I went there. I have always been insecure, not certain how to be in the world. What I have always adored you for is your unapologetic elegance and tenacity in a male-dominated world. I liked that you didn’t seem to give a damn what people thought, because I used to wish I could be more like that…”

JOSHUNDA SANDERS is a writer, journalist, and aspiring librarian. Her writing and reporting has appeared in Bitch, Vibe, and Suede magazines and in the Houston Chronicle, the San Francisco Chronicle, the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, and The Dallas Morning News. Her essays have appeared in Secrets and Confidences: The Complicated Truth About Women’s Friendships (Seal Press, 2004), and Homelands: Women’s Journeys Across Race, Place, and Time (Seal Press, 2006). Her poems have been published in Quiet Storm: Voices of Young Black Poets and Dialogue magazine.

Red the rest of Joshunda’s letter, and 35 others, in P.S. What I Didn’t Say: Unsent Letters to Our Female Friends, now available on Amazon!

PS-1

Leave a Reply

