author spotlight: Anna Cox

Do you have a Best Toxic-Shock Thinking Friend? Anna Cox does, as she eloquently and hilariously (is that a word? You know what I mean) writes about in P.S. What I Didn’t Say: Unsent Letters to Our Female Friends.

In her laugh-out-loud yet poignant letter “Not Sometimes, But Always“, Anna pens the following to her pal Lara:

Most women are lucky enough to have a BFF (Best Friend Forever) but very few are lucky enough to have a BTSTF (Best Toxic Shock Thinking Friend). The BTSTF is the woman that magically appears at a particularly low or humiliating point in your life. She shows you that your particular brand of crazy is neither all that crazy nor all that particular. When you feel like you’re the only freak in the room, she stands by your side—once a lone freak, now freak army. Who knows why we connect with some people and not with others. Sometimes you get lucky and click with someone right away. Sometimes it takes a weird combination of painkillers, elastic waist pants and the loss of something so fundamental you feel like you’ve lost yourself. That is where our friendship began. With loss.

Read more of Anna’s letter, and 35 other letters to our female friends, when P.S. What I Didn’t Say comes out Oct. 1!

PS small

ANNA COX is an assistant professor and director of the photography program at Longwood University in Farmville, Virginia. Her writing has been published in the Chronicle of Higher Education. www.ladyprofessor.com

27 responses to “author spotlight: Anna Cox

  1. Donna Arey Missen

    Love it! Can’t wait for the book to come out!

  2. Loved it, going to buy this for all the women in my life.

  3. I’ve read the complete essay at least 50 times and never tire of reading it…ok, so I am her
    Mother.

  4. How true, male or female. I think it is all about the energy fields that surround us…some repel, some attract, some are neutral. Good luck with your book! Looking forward to reading it!
    Best,
    Lisa Keating

  5. /What a great gift to give to all of my female
    friends. I can’t wait to find out what toxic shock
    friend means, I was so spellbound with Anna’s
    essay and looking forward to reading the rest of
    the story. Great writing Anna Cox.

  6. Great beginning! Can’t wait to read the rest of the essay. Your BTSTF will last a lifetime – distance or years won’t matter – lucky you! Keep writing can’t wait to see what happens next.

  7. I loved the excerpt and look forward to getting the book when it is available. I will tell all my female friends about this book.

  8. Anna Cox nailed the ‘unique’ way we women can develop/create friendships. Her writing is sharpe and witty which for me is a must. I look forward to the October 1 release.

  9. This is awesome… have 5 friends I want to buy it for. please let me know when it comes out…
    Hope you are well.
    Love, Patsy

  10. Took me some “googling” (is that a word??? LOL) but I tracked it down as I didn’t have your daughter’s last name.
    I believe every woman will identify with the contributions offered in this book! We have all been there and done that so it will provide comfort/laughter/tears etc. A must have on our bedside tables for sure.

  11. Meredith Baughman

    An intriguing peek at the way friendships develop. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the story. Beautifully written.

  12. So enjoyed the read. Look forward to the book. How fortunate I am to have clicked so positively with your dear Mom!
    Very insightful thoughts Anna! 🙂

  13. I’ve known Anna for years and she has always
    been crazy and creative. This just proves it.

  14. Mary Ann Nester

    This teaser left me laughing and wanting more

  15. Eleanor Belknap

    If the excerpt written by Anna Cox is any indication of what the book is like it should be a best seller.

  16. Julie Burch Board

    I don’t know Anna, but from this excerpt, this book looks like a winner!

  17. I am fortunate for I have a best friend like Lara.
    Thanks, Anna, for immortalizing her.

  18. This really sounds great. I am proud of you Anna.
    I am going to have a famous niece!

  19. I found the article touching, tremendously clever and also very true. I liked the term “Freak army.” Also the elastic waist pants need creates a neat mind picture. Anna has always been tremendously clever and seems to be finding one outlet after another.

  20. Your daughter has a great sense of humor–well done!

  21. I liked what I read and found it to be so true

  22. Can’t wait to read the next author spotlight. What a great idea to give us a peek inside the book, and an introduction to the contributors.

  23. Congratulations on your accomplishment. It’s great to see that talent, perserverence, & a wonderful, thought-provoking idea can may it’s way to others. Continued success.

  24. Sylvia DiLorenzo

    I was really intrigued by the title and the essay. I enjoyed the essay; found truth in an intelligent and humorous essay. Sylvia DiLorenzo

  25. Loved it. Looking forward to reading more of Anna,s letters in the book.

  26. This sounds like a book Elizabeth Gilbert will wish she had written and one that will resonate for all women. Can’t wait to read more!

  27. Can’t wait to read it, old roomie. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

